Avoid Serious Injury on Your Motorcycle
Be Safe On Your Motorcycle
The weather is nice and it’s the perfect time for a motorcycle ride. Like a lot of cycle enthusiasts, you might not take all of the necessary precautions when it comes to wearing a helmet and protective clothing. Although it’s an inconvenience, taking a few extra steps to cover up can go along way in avoiding serious or more serious injuries.
Aside from common sense measures, Arizona has strict motorcycle laws designed to keep you safe on the roads.
As a Phoenix personal injury lawyer, Ken Gerber has seen first hand the dangerous impact of motorcycle crashes. He has experience in representing victims and knows the law and is willing to fight for victims.
Arizona Motorcycle Laws
Helmets and Face Gear
First, whether you’re the driver or passenger, if you’re under 18 you must wear a protective helmet. It must be secured while the motorcycle is being operated. This also goes for all-terrain vehicles and motor-driven cycles.
If the motorcycle you’re driving does not have a protective windshield, both you and any passengers must wear protective face gear regardless of your age. That includes wearing protective goggles, glasses or a transparent face shield — one that’s approved by the Arizona MVD.
Arizona motorcycle laws require that all motorcycles and all-terrain vehicles have a seat, footrests and at least one rearview mirror. Footrests and firmly fastened seats are also required for passengers. Handlebars must be even or be below the driver’s shoulders.
When it comes to mufflers, there’s a maximum noise level but it just depends on the model of your motorcycles. Speed is factored in as well as maintenance. Also, if a motorcycle is not equipped with its original muffler from the manufacturer, you must install noise reduction parts on it.
Taillights, turn signals, front and rear breaks, two mirrors and a horn are also required under Arizona state law. If turn signals are missing, you must use hand signals.
If you plan on going off-roading, a spark arrestor is required on state and federal lands. This is to prevent wildfires.
A couple of things that you are allowed to have are “modulated headlights,” radar detectors and in-helmet headphones or speakers.
Driving a Motorcycle
While lane splitting is legal in California, it’s not in Arizona. Motorcyclists can make use of an entire lane. No other driver is allowed to infringe upon this. Ken Gerber knows as a Phoenix personal injury lawyer that accidents happen when other drivers don’t yield to motorcycle drivers.
Two motorcyclists are allowed to share a lane and ride side-by-side. This is called two-abreast. But a motorcycle is not allowed to share a lane with a car.
As a motorcycle owner, Arizona motorcycle laws require you to have at least $10,000 in property damage coverage on your insurance policy. For bodily injury coverage, you must have at least $15,000 and a minimum of $30,000 coverage for everyone else.
To get a motorcycle license you must by 16 but if you’re 15 1/2, you can apply for a class M-permit, valid for seven months. The permit comes with restrictions such as daylight driving only on freeways, etc.
No matter what your age, you must pass a general knowledge test, an on-bike skills test and a vision test in order to get a license along with the required fee. The license is good until you turn 65.
If you’re ever a victim of a motorcycle crash and need a Phoenix personal injury lawyer, please give us a call. We’re experienced in handling cases like this.
A Winning Attorney?